Fellows’ Association Steering Committee

The Fellows’ Association Steering Committee (FA) is a small committee of current fellows that provide peer-related support, networking and collaboration to all subspecialty trainees at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. The FA is advised by Gail Slap, MD, MS, associate chair for Fellowship Training for the Department of Pediatrics, and supported by the Office of Fellowship Programs.

On a monthly basis, the FA sponsors educational lunch-time seminars that cover topics common to fellows and instrumental in meeting some of the program curriculum requirements from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

2014-2015 Educational Seminar Topics

  • Part 1: Interviewing/Job Searching
  • Part 2: Contract Negotiations
  • Taxes and Financial Planning
  • Researchers in Medicine: How to Deal With Your Clinical Responsibilities
  • Medical Court Testimony
  • Careers in Academic Medicine, From One Institution to Another
  • Work-life Balance
  • How to 'Um Uh' Improve That Presentation
  • Navigating the Road Less Traveled: Non-traditional Career Paths
  • Red Cap
  • Stokes Research Institute Overview

2014-2015 Fellowship Association Steering Committee

Christine Ferrara, MD
Pediatric Endocrinology Fellow — FA Senior Co-chair
Email: ferrarac@email.chop.edu

Elaine Ramsay, MD
Pediatric Rheumatology Fellow — FA Senior Co-chair
Email: ramsaye@email.chop.edu

Stephanie A. Deutsch, MD
Child Abuse Fellow — FA Co-chair
Email: deutschs@email.chop.edu

Victor S. Harrison, MD
Pediatric Endocrinology Fellow — FA Co-chair
Email: harrisonv@email.chop.edu

Aadil K. Kakajiwala, MD
Pediatric Nephrology Fellow — FA Co-chair
Email: kakajiwalaa@email.chop.edu

Laura H. Rubinos, MD
Neonatal-Perinatal Fellow — FA Co-chair
Email: rubinosl@email.chop.edu

Monica S. Williams, BS 
Manager, Office of Fellowship Programs & Fellows’ Resource Center – FA Admin Member
Email: williamsms@email.chop.edu

Gail B. Slap, MD, MS 
FA Advisor, Associate Chair for Education in the Department of Pediatrics
Email: slapg@email.chop.edu

Reviewed on May 07, 2014